January 6, 2008

I need a new chair.

Posted in General at 9:45 pm by Transmuter

This is not a new development; my current chair, which is a hand-me-down, no longer has any arms and will not raise itself. The recline lock randomly goes out, giving whoever is in it a mini heart attack as the chair suddenly and unexpectedly tilts backward.

There are several things I’m looking for in my new chair:

  • Price: $300-500. I’ll mostly be financing this chair through money gifts received from Christmas and my birthday, giving me about $400 to work with.
  • Mesh fabric. During the summer, my current chair has the tendency to reflect heat, which is not comfortable. A mesh chair allows airflow, preventing heat buildup.
  • Comfortable for extended use. I spend a lot of time sitting at my computer, so I want a chair that is ergonomically designed to be comfortable to sit in for hours at a time. I would prefer if it was comfortable in both the upright and reclining positions.
  • Durable. If I’m going to be spending hundreds of dollars on a chair, it’d better last for many years! The base should be a strong material – no cheap plastic allowed. A lifetime warranty from a company that has good customer service is preferred.

So far I’ve checked out the chairs at my local Office Depot and found one chair that I really love – the Ergohuman E8ERGLO Mesh Chair. It was so amazingly comfortable when I sat in it that I started falling asleep almost immediately! (That’s also due to NBSD – New Baby Sleep Deprivation) It was priced at around $500. Unfortunately I just read a couple of reviews that bring into doubt the chair’s durability and the manufacturer’s customer service, so I’m not going to rush out and buy it until I’ve done some more shopping and research.

1 Comment »

  1. chiemilarsen said,

    $500 dollars! You got that right that you’re using your present money. Ack….I just had a mini heart attack. 🙂 By the way dear, you really need to blog more.


Leave a Reply

