January 26, 2009

The End of WoW

Posted in Games, Role-Playing Games, Video/Computer Games at 12:54 pm by Transmuter

The end of my subscription to World of Warcraft, that is. Chiemi and I have given up playing WoW for the time being to help our family save a little money. If all goes well we can renew our subscriptions in several months, maybe for summer or something.

It’s a pretty unfortunate circumstance, but I’ve been working hard the past couple weeks with the deadline (today) in mind, raising faction reputations that were close to leveling, clearing quests and accomplishing various achievements, and especially finishing all the Lunar Festival achievements in a matter of two days! If I’m lucky I’ll be able to resubscribe in time for the next holiday event. All in all, I got to do a lot of fun things and got a lot done before my subscription ran out, so I’m content with the way this ended.

On the bright side, now I have time for other things, like restarting my Latin studies and playing X3 with my X52. Lots of X there, probably some X-rays or something too.

Also, I haven’t been putting flash games at the end of my posts recently! What’s up with that? Anyway, today’s game is called Ice Breaker. You have to rescue vikings that are stranded in glaciers by cutting the ice around them and letting them roll/fall into their longboat, where a viking with a hammer will smash away the ice in which they are encased. It’s a fun little puzzle game, and I’ve never seen cuter vikings. Good cutting to you!

4 Comments »

  1. Chiemi said,

    Awww poor Dustin. Someday we’ll have more money. 🙂

  2. Hal said,

    I notice that you did not tell everyone you guys are playing Guild Wars as a substitute for WoW. Embarrassed?

    Janet is hooked on Bejeweled Twist. Fortunately, it doesn’t have a monthly fee either.

  3. Michael Grow said,

    I feel your pain. I had to cancel our subsriptions too. I have my new Xbox to keep me company though. Not playing WoW comes with its ups and downs. Being a stay-at-home dad, it was great social contact mechanism. I may have only been communicating with people through a game, but I was communicating. Without WoW, it is pretty much myself, the baby and the dogs. The cat is not much of a talker. However, when I do not have a WoW subscription, I do get a lot more done around the house. I have been getting pretty darn good on my drums.

    That said, I do play Guild Wars. We should hang out some time. Let me know when you guys play. I am home all day, every day.

  4. fergusonfinn said,

    Hang in there! Speaking from personal experience, I’ll just say that there is life without WoW though … Pen and Paper/tabletop RPGs, Single player RPGs like Oblivion, Fallout 3, Fable, … SO much goodness that just gathered dust while I played WoW. I guess I kinda forgot about everything else. So after the mourning period passed, I was able to really dive into some compelling gaming … And you will too!!


Leave a Reply

