March 24, 2009

Welcome (Back) to the World of Warcraft

Posted in Games, Latin Language, Role-Playing Games, Video/Computer Games at 4:02 pm by Transmuter

Rumors of WoW’s death have been greatly exaggerated. I can’t believe I forgot to blog about this, but a few weeks ago Chiemi and I reactivated our World of Warcraft accounts with a little of our tax return money. We’re really happy to have it back, especially me. I was content without it, but we both enjoy it for the social aspect as well as for the gameplay aspect. Just in case we get tight on funds again in the near future we set our billing for the 6-month subscription. That way we don’t have to worry about another monthly payment to make, and it’s cheaper per month that way anyway.

So another thing I totally forgot about until recently is my blog at Path of a Hero. It’s a blog for your WoW character. You take a screenshot of your character and add it in when you make a blog entry. The website will then poll the Armory for your character’s equipped gear and list that along with the screenshot. You can see your character’s progression via means of a slider. Check it out and you’ll see what I mean.

In other news, I am continuing my Latin studies and am almost back to the point in the textbook where I was before I started over. I like learning Latin a lot, I just didn’t have the time or energy to do so back while I was in school. It was way too hard to do side studies while having to do lots of official studies at the same time.

Speaking of not going to school anymore, I really love working for the City of St. George. The people are great, the work is interesting, and we live in a beautiful house in a wonderful town. Chiemi’s blog has much more information (and pictures!), but I’ll just say that it’s small enough to be friendly and clean but large enough to have most amenities. And Las Vegas is only about 2 hours away, so Saturday trips aren’t infeasable.

Achievement Unlocked is a fun little game. The whole point of the game is to unlock all of the game’s 100 achievements. Many of the achievements are hilariously easy to accomplish, such as starting the game, dying, or jumping. The last few are a little tricky, but a hint is try pressing different buttons. I played through it times, just because it was entertaining and easy to play.

3 Comments »

  1. Michael Grow said,

    So, is it “vini vidi vici” or “wini widi wici”? No one seems to agree. I am glad you could get your WoW accounts back up. If I ever get my router working, I will reactivate ours too. My Xbox has been keeping me sane in the meantime.

    • Transmuter said,

      The answer is that both pronunciations are correct, it just depends on what period of Latin you’re talking about! In Classical Latin, the language the Romans spoke (which is what I’m studying), the letter V was pronounced “w”, and the letter W didn’t exist. Also, the letter V could be used instead of the vowel U, but that’s beside the point. So in Classical Latin the phrase would be pronounced “wini widi wici”. Centuries later, in Eccesiastical Latin, the language of the Catholic church, the letter V was pronounced as it is in English today. Hence, “vini vidi vici”. So next time someone complains about your pronunciation of the phrase, just say you’re using the Classical (or Ecclesiastical) pronunciation! 🙂

  2. Michael Grow said,

    Thanks, you’re the first person who has been able to answer that. Kudos.


Leave a Reply

