April 7, 2009

Cheese – Havarti

Posted in Food at 3:59 pm by Transmuter

Ok, for my first week of cheese experimentation I bought a hunk of Havarti. Havarti is a semi-soft cheese originating in Denmark. I made sandwiches of ciabatta bread, deli-sliced turkey, and sliced tomatoes. I had 4 sandwiches’ worth of ingredients, so I had one a day at lunch from Tuesday to Friday. I didn’t really care for it the first day, but by the second day the flavor had grown on me somewhat. By Friday I could appreciate the flavor of the cheese, but I wouldn’t say it was my favorite.

The cheese was soft and very creamy, with a mild flavor. At this point I’d probably say that I don’t particularly care for creamy cheeses, but I’ll try a few other soft varities in the future to make sure it wasn’t just Havarti I was unimpressed with. Keep in mind I love extremely sharp cheddar, so Havarti was like the opposite of that. Still, I didn’t dislike it either.

My rating: 5/10

2 Comments »

  1. bjcooks said,

    Keep trying those cheeses. I also like strong cheeses but I don’t like them between pieces of bread with deli turkey; blands out the flavor. You don’t have to have bread to make lunch. A good cracker will do just fine. Try other Swiss varieties, the bleu cheeses or parmesan. Hard, firm or crumbly cheeses go well with fruit. Apples, plums or pears seem to enhance the flavor. There are some stores that have cheese “whizzes” or experts behind the counter; enjoy the samples. Pick there brains and I bet you’ll come across something you’ll come to love.

    B.J.

  2. Michael Grow said,

    Yeah, I was not a big fan of Havarti either. I like Muenster a lot though. It is much better for a sandwich, or for putting on little crackers. You might try Muenster. It is not so soft as Havarti. I think it is actually pretty similar to Gouda.


Leave a Reply

