April 16, 2009

Cheese – Mini Babybel

Posted in Food at 1:57 pm by Transmuter

Ok, I haven’t had a chance to get some real cheese eatin’ going on this week, so I’ll review the famous processed cheese known as “Mini Babybel”. I’m not entirely sure what a processed cheese is, except that it’s made of a combination of cheeses and cheese materials (like milk!). I always liked these as a kid, since 1) They’re kid-sized and 2) Unwrapping the wax is fun!

So I have ambivalent feelings about this cheese. Sometimes I eat it and I’m like “Wow, that was really tasty!” and other times I think “This cheese is kinda gross.” Why is that? I have no idea. Sometimes the first bite is icky but the last bite is good! So crazy. They make a convenient snack though!

Rating: 4/10 – 7/10 (Depending on my mood?)

Bonus tip: Apparently there are several varities of this mini cheese, such as cheddar, gouda, and “light”.

As another cheese note, yesterday I made a sandwich out of the last of my Dubliner cheese. Unfortunately I couldn’t slice it as thin as I had the first week since it was the end piece, so it was about twice as thick as I was used to. When I ate the sandwich it was totally gross! The cheese had crystallized or something, and the flavor was totally different from what I remembered. It did taste a lot like Swiss cheese, but even more disgusting! What’s the deal, man? Did the cheese go bad? It was probably three weeks old, stored in a zip-lock bag in the refrigerator.

Revised rating: 1/10. Seriously, I couldn’t eat more than half of the sandwich!

On an unrelated note, I just finished reading every single Dinosaur Comic. I think it’s affected my writing style. Funny comic, though! Very cerebral, and lots of linguistics-related comics too!

1 Comment »

  1. Michael Grow said,

    That’s odd, the Dublineer incident. It doesn’t seem like it should have gone that quickly. Of course, you never can tell how long the store had it before you did.

    Man, I love those Babybels. That is actually one of my daughter’s many nicknames: “Baby-Belle”. I know what you mean about the dynamic taste though. You are never quite sure what it is going to taste like. It’s like an adventure.


Leave a Reply

