April 27, 2013

Great TV Shows

Posted in General at 8:06 pm by Transmuter

Over the last few years I’ve had the pleasure of watching several excellent television shows (though mostly on Netflix, etc.). I’d like to talk about some of my favorites here, in no particular order.

Avatar: the Last Airbender

This animated series has a great story, good voice acting, excellent martial arts choreography, and does a great job mixing humor, action, adventure, and drama. I strongly recommend it to anyone who is interested in any of those aspects. I haven’t yet seen the sequel, “The Legend of Korra”, but I am excited to.

Futurama

Back when this show first came out I was a big Simpsons fan. However, I wasn’t as taken with Futurama, despite it having a similar art style and humor, as well as a sci-fi theme, so I never bothered watching it much. Fast forward to about a year ago, and I started watching the show again on Netflix. It was great! I guess the show just resonates better with my current phase of life than it did for me as a teen. My brother mentioned he felt the same. I don’t really have anything specific to mention about the show, just that I enjoy the unexpected jokes, non-sequitors, and slapstick humor the program delivers.

Doctor Who

This show took me a few episodes (of the new series) to really get fully invested, but once I did I was in for a fantastic ride. All three modern incarnations of the Doctor have been great, in different ways. The shows have been interesting, funny, and occasionally scary. The quality of each episode can vary, but I still consider myself a fan of the series. I have to go on record that the Tenth Doctor, played by David Tennant, is my personal favorite incarnation of the Doctor, though Matt Smith as the Eleventh and Christopher Eccleston as the Ninth are also both very good.

My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic

No, I don’t consider myself a “brony”. I had heard good things about the show, and since it was on Netflix my little girls started watching it. Curious, I watched it with them and was pleasantly surprised to see that it was significantly better than the My Little Pony cartoon my sister used to watch as a kid. The show has definite slapstick elements inspired by the old Looney Toons cartoon, it has great songs (certainly not the cheesy junk found on other shows my girls watch like Strawberry Shortcake), and most episodes illustrate some positive value while somehow avoiding delivering it in a heavy-handed way. I enjoy the mythological flavor of the various creatures that inhabit the world – chimeras, dragons, pegasi, hydras, and so on; they were things I thought were cool as a kid when I read about Greek mythology and played D&D. Overall, I recommend the show to anyone with younger kids (my 3-year-old son likes the show as much as his older sisters). You definitely won’t go crazy having them watch this kids’ show (until they listen to one of the songs on repeat 20 times in a row).

1 Comment »

  1. Brett said,

    “You call that an ink defense?!”


Leave a Reply

