May 5, 2013

BGG Contests

Posted in Board Games, Games, Hobby at 8:17 pm by Transmuter

So on Board Game Geek, the wonderful website that is all about board games, there is at least one contest a week. These contests require contestants to fill out a multiple choice quiz about a new or upcoming board game; more correct answers means more contest entries. Winning usually means acquisition of a copy of the game in question. The primary purpose of the contest is for game publishers to raise awareness of one of their games in hopes of attracting more buyers. I have entered more than a hundred of these contests.

I originally started doing the contests for the unique microbadge that you get for entering each contest. Up to five microbadges can be displayed under your avatar when posting on the BGG forums. It’s a fun little game on the site to collect as many as possible and display the microbadges most relevant to your current interests. Despite not expecting to win any of the contests due to large volume of entrants, I still entered the contests for these little geeky badges.

I actually, finally won my 56th contest, sponsored by Polish publisher Rebel.pl. I got my choice of one of five of their upcoming games, and I decided on The Cave. The Cave is a game where players control a team of speleologists, scientists who study caves, and race to achieve the best and most discoveries in a large cave system. Points are awarded for being the first team to photograph underground rock and crystal formations, the first to dive in and explore underground lakes, the first to get through tight squeezes, and so on. Teams must return to the base camp to resupply their stocks of rope, oxygen tanks, and most importantly food. I found the game to be quite fun, and I have enjoyed my half-dozen or so plays.

49 contests later I won again! This time I won a copy of Torn Armor, a miniatures skirmish game that was funded via Kickstarter. The game is scheduled to be released around November 2013, but I’m looking forward to trying it out. Painting the miniatures should also be fun.

Speaking of Kickstarter and miniatures, last year I went in with a couple of my friends to back Reaper’s Bones kickstarter project. This project was not for a game, but simply a huge number of plastic miniatures for use in role playing games and the like. It appears that the minis should finally be arriving sometime this month. It’s going to require a lot of painting, but it should be enjoyable. I will make a more detailed post once they come in and I have had a chance to paint at least some of them.

Leave a Reply

